Bailey of the VanderNogis #27

baileyface

I have a small confession. When I was 12 I had a pair of parakeets. Originally it was Siesta and Fiesta, but funny enough Siesta took the Big Nap and was replaced by Skyler. Sometimes I would take their unwieldy cage and put it outside, so they could enjoy the sunshine. In retrospect this is mildly cruel, like “oh here’s the big blue sky, but yeah you can’t fly in it!”. One day I simply forgot to bring them back into the house.

The next morning, the inevitable. The cage had been knocked from the picnic table. The heavy metal frame was beaten and warped. It was the work of a neighborhood cat blitzkrieg . To this day I hold on to the  hope that Skyler and Fiesta got away. There weren’t any feathers around the cage at all. They found some sexy blue jays and lived a happy birdie life right?

Now my family has a cat. A wonderful perfect Nogi cat. Tiny of head, large of body, affectionate in spirit.  I think he would rather eat a squirrel than a bird anyway.

~ by Arwen on February 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
