Thrum of electricity #108

pgeranchosanantonio

Now for many this would not be a big deal, but Saturday morning I pulled myself out of bed at 7am to go hiking at the Rancho San Antonio Preserve. I did part of the PG&E hike, which gets its name from the electric wires running close to the trail. Even at 7:45 the parking lot was full of early morning joggers, hikers, and bikers.

Hiking alone in the cool summer air is a fairly contemplative experience. My thoughts ran something like this:

Ooo how pretty! Look at that bird!

Ow my thighs, damn hill. My butt is going to be sore tomorrow.

Hmm, maybe I should quit my job and become a magician.

Bug! Big bug, run run run!

Another hill!? @#$@^$!

I need to do laundry and pay the PG&E bill.

I feel so alive! What a fabulous place!

@!%$! HILL!

And so on and so forth.

~ by Arwen on May 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
